Priority Issues

Current Legislation

Review the relevant legislation that impacts NASS members and their patients in the spine care community..

Surprise Billing

NASS Supports: Consensus policy to address issues arising from out of network care, which can lead to surprise bills, and urges Congress to avoid unintended and harmful consequences for patients, providers, and the overall health care system.

Read More

Prior Authorization

NASS Supports: Opportunities to improve the prior authorization process to ensure safe, timely, and affordable access to care for patients. The current prior authorization process can be burdensome for patients, providers, and insurance plans and we seek to improve the process.

H.R. 3107 Read More

Graduate Medical Education

NASS Supports: Increasing the number of federally funded residency slots to address workforce shortages in many specialties and eliminating the current graduate medical education funding restrictions.

H.R. 1763 S. 348 Read More

Medical Liability Reform

NASS Supports: Opportunities to improve our broken medical liability system and federal protections for medical providers who volunteer their time and skills to respond in times of crisis.

H.R. 3656 S. 1350 Read More

Medicare Care Coordination

NASS Supports: Modernizing the physician self-referral law, (a.k.a. “Stark”) to permit physicians to participate and succeed with the intent behind MACRA – to collaborate within and across specialties to improve patient care, lower costs and improve efficiencies within the healthcare system.

H.R. 2282 S. 966 Read More

Legislative Tracker

NASS staff diligently maintains a record of the Members of Congress who co-sponsor and/or vote in alignment with our priorities. Using our regularly updated legislative tracker, you can assess where your federal representatives stand on the issues that matter most to the spine care community.

View Now

Policy Issue Briefs

  • Surprise Billing View
  • Stark Reform View
  • Interoperability and Data Access View
  • MACRA/MIPS Provisions View
  • Regulatory Relief View

Legislative CommitteeMeet our Leadership

Alan Brown
Alan Brown
Orthopedic Surgeon
Samy Abdou
Kasra Ahmadinia
Orthopedic Surgeon
R. Dale Blasier
Orthopedic Surgeon
Claude Borowsky
Physiatry/ Rehabilitation Medicine
Brian Gantwerker
David Gwinn
Orthopedic Surgeon
Heidi Hullinger
Orthopedic Surgeon
Reginald Knight
Orthopedic Surgeon
Matthew Maxwell
Physiatry/ Rehabilitation Medicine
Brandon Rebholz
Orthopedic Surgeon
Philip Schneider
Orthopedic Surgeon
Michael Steinmetz
William Watters
Orthopedic Surgeon
Diana Wiseman